Passport Dilemma !

And so it goes on, my quest for my new passport, to replace the one that disappeared from my room, or my living room or my bag, be it the Jinn or the cat or whatever, I know I did not lose it outside and I may be repeating myself from another post but I have turned the place upside down, inside out and searched every nook and cranny.

I sent my application online, my very good friend Di confirmed I was who I was, again online, with the photo, Dees had made with her latest Iphone, OMG i looked just as horrendous as I did 8 years ago on the last passport photo. I even missed the Passport offices ( PO) confirmation by about 5 days. I sent all the documents, adding a cover letter explaining that i had no documents apart from my birth certificate ( BC) with maiden name which I now wanted on my new passport and not the name on my old passport which was my married name to my ex ex. I explained that as a non Dutch living in NL I legally had to use the name in my passport and could not change it until the PO had changed it in my passport.

yesterday i had an email from the PO in the UK to sign a statement saying I was using my maiden name and then to send documents showing I was using that name duhhhhh! I called them and explained again. The guy on the phone asked me if i had an employers letter or anything. I explained the situation again. He stated googling. I explained to him the process even for a Dutch person it was a long, costly legal process to change their surname and impossible for a non Dutch to do it. He told me that he would call his colleague and let me know today. I in the meantime, printed out the declaration iam using my maiden name, signed it, scanned it and mailed it back with yet again a cover letter.

Last night I dreamt that I was one of the first British to get the new post Brexit blue British passports. It was biggish and in a plastic covering and there were lots of photos in it with a lot of cats ha ha ha.

Published by Andrea Fletcher

Single mum to a 31 year old. I work full time at the moment at a job I love. Two cats I adore cats. Mum is 91 and likes in UK, I live in NL. Im hippi Indi. Love putting a smile on peoples faces. Love travel, the desert, writing, crafts, and mental health issues.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started