Challenge Accepted! For The Sake Of The Street Cats.

  • Challenge Accepted!!!
  • ​I have been searching for the ideal challenge for me to tackle. I did not want it to be something as simple as my tandem skydive. Okay for some jumping or rolling out of a plane when it is in the sky may not be as simple as that you need to have the guts to do it, and there are many things to consider depending on your own situation and personal disposition. For me it was easy, my character is kind of weird, it is like split sort of, one side of me is afraid to take on certain things due to my fear of failure, or it being a long term kind of thing and me not being able to stick to it. The other side of my character is more impulsive, a spur of the moment thing, if there are going to be consequences let it be so, but to just ‘pluk de dag’ or ‘Carpe diem’ or ‘seize the day’. I had wanted to make a parachute jump many years ago, but it just didn’t happen, and it had gone to the back of my mind and way just one of those things on my bucket list. I was unexpectedly drinking coffee, sitting opposite Hilversum airfield and I saw there was a flying school. To cut the story short, I was offered the chance to do a duo tandem skydive 5 days later. I was eager, I couldn’t wait. I was very excited when I was going upwards in the plane and couldn’t wait to dispatch myself from the plane.
  • The challenge that I have accepted, is not quite so exciting, it is not just an exciting activity with no goal. My challenge has a goal, more than one in fact. I will be challenging my own physical disabilities, namely chronic Achilles tendonitis, plantar fasciitis and heel spur in both feet. Fibromyalgia and mild ankylosing spondylitis. My second goal is to highlight the of street cats, specifically the street cats in Morocco. They live a very weary life plagued with starvation, sickness, cruelty, loss, the loss the mother cats experience when their kittens are too weak to thrive. Those kittens that do survive go on to live the hard life on the streets, scratching around garbage areas for food and on to giving birth to as many litters their body can tolerate. It is my mission to help as many of Moroccan street cats as is possible. Dishes with clean water, food and medical attention and getting as many neutered as possible, to try to slow down the ever expanding population. By preventing new life, it will help preserve the lives of the cats that are already there.
  • In order to make my mission as successful as possible, I have made sure that it falls under SMART goals.

Specific: Well-defined, clear, and unambiguous

Measurable: With specific criteria that measure my progress toward the accomplishment of the goal

Achievable: Attainable and not impossible to achieve

Realistic: Within reach, realistic, and relevant to my life purpose

Timely: With a clearly defined timeline, including a starting date and a target date. The purpose is to create urgency.

My goal is to walk/hike/climb from Imlil in Morocco to the summit of Mount Toubkal, in the Atlas mountains, the highest peak in North Africa. People have done it in 2 days, people who are quite fit without any disabilities to hinder them. I have decided to spread it over 3 days to try to avoid overstraining and also to enjoy some time in the camp at Imlil. Making my goal specific and therefore having a greater chance of being accomplished I need to consider these 5 questions:

Who: Who is involved in the goal?

What: What do I want to accomplish?​

Where: Where is this goal to be achieved?

Why: Why do I want to achieve this goal?

When: When do I want to achieve this goal?

My plan is to achieve this goal starting around 23rd October 2022. My trip will be 100% funded by myself, but……I invite anyone reading this to make a small donation to the plight of the street cats in Morocco. I guarantee that every cent donated will go 100% to help the street cats.

I do not have a Go Fund Me account as the bank dealing with that fund is not available where I live but donations can be made through Paypal to tinkerbell451@hotmail.com chose the option family/friends and add a note that it is for the street cats. If you make a donation please pm me so I can thank you.

Hope to post photos when I reach the top!

Feel free to share this post 🙂

Published by Andrea Fletcher

Single mum to a 31 year old. I work full time at the moment at a job I love. Two cats I adore cats. Mum is 91 and likes in UK, I live in NL. Im hippi Indi. Love putting a smile on peoples faces. Love travel, the desert, writing, crafts, and mental health issues.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started